Daily Life, Remodel

Laundry Room

Everyone’s favorite room is the laundry room, right? Probably not.

I saw this and it made me laugh.

Today the flooring guys were supposed to come. Did they? Nope. I knew I had a ton of work to do to prepare for the worker to come. The plan was to get up early and make all the kids help. Well, we woke up on time-ish and I got straight to work while making sure the kids were all getting ready and off to school. I drove them in two trips at different times. The weather is cold. 8° F feels like -9°. If I can drive them, I do. They have to walk the rest of the week. When they were finally off to school I returned to my work.

I vacuumed the floor trying to find staples and any other object sticking up out of the floor. I found a few and hammered them down flat. I’m sure I missed a few but I’m not to worried because I’m having them lay a new subfloor so the surface is even. The previous floor was uneven and you could see the wear on the vinyl where the boards met.

Alex was working from home so between jobs he came up to help when I started on the drywall. The laundry room needed to be done, we hadn’t touched it and we thought we could get a good start before the flooring guy came. The guy never showed up but I wasn’t upset because it ended taking us all day, almost twelve hours. The floor needed to be pulled up, nails, staples and screws taken out and the ceiling was falling down from when we removed a closet.

On the ceiling you can see where the walls were. Also, take note of the ceiling texture. It is impossible to clean with all of those sharp spikes. I have an idea to fix that soon.

This room used to be two rooms, a bathroom and a laundryroom/mudroom. It wasn’t working so well that way. So we made it one room but there was still a toilet drain stuck in the floor. The plumber rendered it useless for us and Alex managed to disconnect it and with some more cutting into the floor we got it out!

The kids had so much fun with the hole in the floor. They passed stuff up and down and giggled the entire time.

See the copper pipes in the corner of the picture? Those are for the new sink. I decided that even though it would be a small sink, it would be nice to have somewhere to soak and scrub dirty laundry. It will be a very small sink I think. Better than nothing- I hope.

We got the laundry room all done and mostly cleaned up. I put the washer and dryer back on their wall and hooked them back up so I could do a few loads. Even for the fact that I did laundry for two days straight last week preparing for this week of not having the use of the laundry facilities, I still needed to wash more clothes! I got the washer leveled with a shim and at an angle to compensate for the slanted floor and got a couple loads done before bed. We learned the hard way in the first few months of marriage that if your washer isn’t level your washer will break. We are freaks about leveling appliances after that. Not cheap to replace them when a simple leveling will keep them working. We were just kids, what did we know.

Yes, the dog is always in the picture. The blue walls are the mold resistant drywall. Benjamin saw them and wasn’t a fan of the color. Yeah, I’m not either. For that room anyways.
This is the wall the washer and dryer used to be on. A whole post will be devoted to this. I have way too many ideas sometimes.

Man, the last few days of work wore us out. Due to Alex’s back hurting I did most of the heavy lifting. We had about 36 sheets of drywall we put up. We have one leftover. I cut and lifted and moved 36 sheets! Alex screwed them all in and built out a wall and built a closet. It was three whole long days of work. Now I get to mud the joints and texture the walls. I hope the flooring guy comes so I can have a few days break from construction to catch up on housework.

Leave a comment