Daily Life, Holidays, Uncategorized

Christmas Break

Well, Christmas was okay. It checked all the boxes. It’s not the same as when you are a kid. Being a Mom means you make the magic instead of just enjoying the magic. I was sure to tell my mom thank you for years of magic.

What I found the most magical was the fact that after three different illnesses hit our house we are finally done with being sick. Fingers crossed. We have had sick kids since Thanksgiving. It’s been the most ridiculous deal. Thankfully it wasn’t the pukes, for the most part. Just fevers and coughs. I didn’t catch anything which made dealing with all the sick kids bearable. I finally broke down and took two of them in to the doctor because I was just done and wanted to know if there was anything I could do. Well, they were diagnosed with the flu and prescribed medicine. I didn’t bother to get the prescription and the kids healed up and were better in a couple days. Imagine that. I should have just not gone in.

Alex and I have been keeping the kids busy cleaning the house. They aren’t fans but I am. The house has been cleaner and I’ve been able to tackle some deep cleaning jobs like cleaning the oven and the window tracks. Things I rarely get to because I’m doing the kids’ jobs. Alex took the week off and it has been a big help. I even deep cleaned my bedroom which made me very happy. Every year I ask for a clean house for Christmas and this year I kind of got it. Yay! Don’t worry, they’ve been playing most of the time.

Since I’ve has little kids in the house for the last 17 years my Christmas decorations start to look hagard by the end of the season due to kids pulling ornaments off and rearranging things so by the end of the season I’m more than happy to take it all down and put it away. This year it’s stayed looking nice and I kind of want to keep the stuff up.

I haven’t made as many treats this year as I normally do, and that’s fine, but I did try a caramel pretzel recipe and I wasn’t a fan. It glooped up and wasn’t how I imagined it. So I tweaked it using a recipe I knew worked and it turned out great.

Caramel toffee pretzels
And because it made enough caramel, I made caramel corn with nuts

We watched Lyle Lyle Crocodile after dinner and ate the pretzels and popcorn. The big boys do not like the movie but the rest of us do. It’s cute. My little four year old cried during the movie and it was adorable. She’s growing up and is no longer a baby. I breaks my heart but also makes me happy to see her growing and being herself.

The season is almost over but that just means more adventures. That’s what I am going to keep telling myself.

Leave a comment