Daily Life, Holidays

Thanksgiving Week: Friday and Saturday

Friday. The official go back home day. It’s days like that where I wish I lived closer so it could just be a quick pop in visit. I probably stay way too long when I visit my family but I can’t help it sometimes. I only go down there maybe 4 times a year?

The kids swam in the hotel pool and had a blast. I tried to let them play as long as they could but we needed to clean up and check out was at eleven.

Elizabeth was learning to swim and found out how to blow up her swimsuit to have a built in floaty. It worked quite well keeping her afloat.

At my parent house the kids all ran around and found a place to play. We opened the crawl space (nicest crawl space ever- lined, deep, lights and they put some spare carpet down) and got the decorations out. I helped my mom and dad put some up. Might as well make myself useful.

My brother and sister-in-law came down to the kitchen to eat and they said their friend found out their kids have RSV. Update, my niece and nephews also have RSV. The kids stayed separate for the whole time we were there so I’m hoping we don’t catch it. Also, prayers for all the little babies effected would be appreciated.

I also got a text from my friend asking when I would be home. I told her that day and she asked if I’d be willing to make an emergency wedding cake. I guess their other cake fell through? I said I would and booked myself up for the day.

The trip home was uneventful. Thank goodness. My 15 passenger van rattled and rolls and shakes like you wouldn’t believe so it’s always a miracle we make it where we’re going. It is a stressful drive for me though. Complete concentration. I did enjoy one part of the drive though, a book about the pilgrims and America’s founding. I thought it was appropriate. And I learned a ton.

Saturday downed nice and cloudy. Then it started to snow. The roads were super slick. Thankfully they cleared the highway so I could deliver the cake and take my birthday boy out to dinner. He turned ten today! He wanted an ice cream cake- thank goodness because I didn’t really want to bake and decorate two cakes today.

I still have a long ways to go to get better skill-wise but I think for an emergency cake it looks pretty good.

We took our new ten year old out for sushi next. It wasn’t his favorite. It didn’t live up to the grocery store sushi. Honestly, I agree. Hahaha. Next time.

We then went to Walmart and got the birthday boy an ice cream cake like he wanted and let him wander all over the store looking for a present. I won’t do that again. He looked for what seemed like two hours. But he got what he wanted and made the day better.

It was a long week full of way more drama than I like -which is none- but we survived and lived to tell the tale.

I’ve got three more birthdays coming up in the next two weeks so I’ll definitely be busy.

Leave a comment