Daily Life

Scammers

Okay, with things being a little bit tighter, economy and all, I decided it was time to let some things go. So I listed some things on a social media marketplace and instantly people responded. I hate selling things anyways, it gives me anxiety all ways to Sunday and I’d avoid it if I could.

The text conversation started out normal enough but two texts in, the first interested party got a little too polite and insistent. Alarm bells were going off in my head and I knew something was off. I gave him the benefit of the doubt but after a few more texts and emails and such I spotted quite a few errors. Things weren’t adding up. Literally.

I messaged back politely, “Thank you for your interest but this is all too convoluted,” and refused to respond further. He put up question marks. I think in addition to his inability to do basic math, his vocabulary was lacking as well.

I was tempted to text back and tell him every single error he made (there were ever so many) but I’m not going to make it easier for him to trick people.

I was upset, as this is not the first time I’ve had people try to scam me, and I took my listing off the marketplace. I feel bad for all the others who were genuinely interested, but I was not in the mood to filter through them. I’ll relist later.

I don’t know why it’s so hard for people to be honest. It’s not that hard.

Leave a comment