Daily Life

Progress and Stocking Up

This past weekend we worked on the kitchen. It’s looking so good. I can say I really hate sanding. And I can say I should have done a better job of it. Now it will bug me forever. Oh well. Maybe only I will notice it. We sanded and then primed the walls and ceiling patches.

View from the laundry room
View from the hallway

I am so ready to be done with this whole mess. A little over a month left and it will be over. The plan is to paint the walls and trim this week and hopefully start trimming doors and windows this week. I worked on it for a few minutes today but today I needed to get a paint brush and food. We were out of milk and a bunch of other apocalyptic supplies. You know how it goes. And I have voracious teenagers so its even worse.

I had dreaded going to the store today. It used to be a fun thing but now it is just work. At Costco I had one of those flatbed carts. I stacked it really high and walked slow because it was heavy, and because I didn’t want stuff to fall off. I’m am pretty sure people were looking at me weird but I never care about that anyways. I’ve got more important things to worry about than their opinion.

I am a tetris master

I wish I could say this was all of it but I went back in with Alex a little while later while we were still in town to get a few more things. I only go to Costco once every month or so. I hate wearing a mask and they are sticklers about it. And it is a drive and gas costs and all. Well, I sucked it up and went with my list. Well, I knew that they limited toilet paper to one package per person. That’s all well and good if you have a normal size family. With ten people you need a bit more for use and storage. But what I didn’t know was that they were rationing flour. Yeah. Fifty pounds or two bags per purchase. I wanted to stock up with five. They had to take three back. So I went back in later with Alex and got two more. Like I said, with a normal size household the two bags might suffice. But I am running a family diner. In my house. For my eight kids. And since I only go there once a month or so, I feel justified.

When we finally got home we had the kids bring all the groceries into the house. One time I was at a store and the bagger asked if I needed help out to the car. No, sir, that is the easy part. The hard part is getting it in the house and put away. Is there a service that does that? I would love that. But then, I have the kids for that. If they eat it, they can haul the food in. I try to time the trips for when the kids are home.

So it is all put away and I feel more prepared for the end of the world. Well, maybe just the next month or so. We’ll find out, won’t we.

We had Family Home Evening after dinner cleanup. I’d told the kids to prepare their parts. Elizabeth read a story and we played Catch Phrase and ate cookies. It was fun. Michael slept through the whole thing. It isn’t a joke that teenagers are always sleeping. Michael is always sleeping. He better be tall for all of it.

Oh, and I did workout with my friend, too, that morning. We both needed a push and motivation. I am so sore and I am sure she is, too. We did a BBG workout. They are good and I have a love/hate relationship with them but they work and it feels good to push myself. Having an accountability partner for exercise hopefully makes me stick with it. We’ll see. I can’t wait for the snow to melt on the track so I can go walking outside again. The school kids go cross-country skiing on it for gym if that tells you anything about the state of the track right now. I guess I could do that if I had the skis. There’s an idea worth exploring. Hmm. I’ll look that up. Like I need a new hobby.

Leave a comment