Uncategorized

Christmas Eve

Today, being Christmas Eve, I wanted to make it special. Alex only has to go to work for a couple hours and then he comes home for most of the day. Yay! Well, he was supposed to but work happens. He did get off two hours early so that is something.

The kids reminded me on Sunday that we hadn’t done rice krispie houses yet. Good grief. I’d totally spaced it. Every year we make a big batch of rice krispie treats and I give each kid a warm blob and they shape it into a house and decorate it. I started doing it that way because the kids would get frustrated with the houses not staying up and this just made it eaiser. And they all love rice krispie treats so they eat it all. No leftover cookie and frosting mess. And no baking tons of cookie house parts. I sent Alex to the store to get the stuff on the way home. No rice krispies. Apparently we aren’t the only ones who use them. But I had bought boxes and boxes of rice chex on sale the other day so we used those. They worked!

We moved all the presents from on high (we don’t put presents at ground level until Christmas Eve because little kids always unwrap them early and that is never a good thing).

We read the Christmas story and sang Christmas hymns. My mom got me Christmas ornaments that have the Biblical names of Christ on them. I have each kid one or two ornaments and we read the scriptures where the name was found. The kid with the name got to put it on the tree. They all listened intently. They loved it! Thanks Mom and Dad!

After that the kids all went and played Bananagrams. They wanted to go to bed early but 6:30 was too early. They would have woken up at midnight and been awake all night. That’s all we need. It really is the longest night of the year.

We finally got them all asleep shortly after 11. Yes. The day is long when you never go to bed, kids.

Morning comes early. Good night.

Leave a comment